Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Queen of Queens Field Is Set

A repeat winner?
Photo Credit: Kelly Kyle/Texas Anarchy
Via ACW Tour Dates

The final three names for the Anarchy Championship Wrestling American Joshi Queen of Queens Tournament have been announced. Angelus Layne is the first one announced of the three, news which actually broke before her wrists did. She's planning on being healthy enough to work the date despite her current double-wrist injury. Next up is the undisputed Queen of Wrestling Cosplay, Leva Bates. Bates was in last year's Queen of Queens, and in fact, she beat Layne in the first round before losing to the eventual winner, Angel Blue, in round two.

And of course, rounding out the field is last year's winner, the sour-pussed, devilishly cunning best goddamn heel on the indies today, Angel Blue. She will be looking to be the first ever repeat winner. Daizee Haze, Lady Poison, Rachel Summerlyn, and Athena all won the tournament in the past, but none of them could win a second one. In addition to Blue, Athena and Poison's alter ego, Jessica James, will vie for an unprecedented second crown. To recap, the other three competitors announced are American Joshi Champion Su Yung, Jenny Rose, and Candice LeRae. Queen of Queens is always a standout event on the indie calendar, and this year's tourney looks to be no different. It happens June 29 at the Mohawk in Austin, TX.