Sunday, March 15, 2015

The 2015 TWB Tournament of Champions SELECTION SUNDAY

The Hulkster's ready for the tournament, are you, brother?
Photo Credit:
Later on today, the NCAA will unveil its field of 68 men's college basketball teams, kicking off the biggest gambling event of the year, and to a lesser extent, the tournament to determine the best team in the top level of college hoops. It also means that it's time for The Wrestling Blog to do its annual knock-off tournament! The first three years was a field of current wrestlers. Last year, it was finishing moves. This year, I'm proud to announce the Tournament of Champions as this year's big tournament.

Four promotions will send 16 of their best Champions: WWE, WCW, ECW, and TNA. The winners from each region will reach the Final Four for the big final smackdown. WWE's time period is confined to the WrestleMania era. WCW will include a little bit of spillover from its predecessor, Jim Crockett Promotions. TNA's run will include TNA World Champions and recognized NWA World Champions from when TNA was an affiliated promotion. And ECW will only include pre-purchase ECW, which is to say no Kane or Big Show. Also, wrestlers who were Champions in more than one promotion will not repeat. That is to say, Hulk Hogan will only appear in the WWE region and not WCW.

So, without further ado, I'm going to announce the field. First up, the number one seeds are as follows:
  • WWE - Hulk Hogan: It was a hard decision, but Hogan is both the godfather of modern WWE and the bedrock upon which WrestleMania was built.
  • WCW - Ric Flair: The Nature Boy was perhaps the easiest choice to make.
  • ECW - Raven: This one was perhaps the hardest decision of them all, since ECW was never really all about one guy as much as it was an ensemble. But Raven was arguably the centerpiece to the first pay-per-view, and he held the title well.
  • TNA - Kurt Angle: Angle over Jarrett because at least Angle didn't book himself to win all those titles.
And now, time to announce the rest of the field, starting with WWE:
  1. Hulk Hogan
  2. "Stone Cold" Steve Austin
  3. John Cena
  4. "Macho Man" Randy Savage
  5. The Rock
  6. Mick Foley
  7. Triple H
  8. Shawn Michaels
  9. Bret "The Hitman" Hart
  10. The Undertaker
  11. The Ultimate Warrior
  12. CM Punk
  13. Randy Orton
  14. Brock Lesnar
  15. Yokozuna
  16. Batista
Next up, WCW:
  1. Ric Flair
  2. Sting
  3. Lex Luger
  4. Dusty Rhodes
  5. Big Van Vader
  6. Bill Goldberg
  7. Diamond Dallas Page
  8. Booker T
  9. The Giant
  10. Ron Simmons
  11. Scott Steiner
  12. Kevin Nash
  13. The Great Muta
  14. Barry Windham
  15. Ron Garvin
  16. Sid Vicious
Third on the list is ECW:
  1. Raven
  2. The Sandman
  3. Taz
  4. Terry Funk
  5. Sabu
  6. Shane Douglas
  7. Justin Credible
  8. Mike Awesome
  9. Masato Tanaka
  10. Mikey Whipwreck
  11. Rhino
  12. Jerry Lynn
  13. Steve Corino
  14. Bam Bam Bigelow
  15. Jimmy Snuka
  16. Tommy Dreamer
And finally, TNA:
  1. Kurt Angle
  2. Jeff Jarrett
  3. AJ Styles
  4. Christian Cage
  5. Bully Ray
  6. Bobby Roode
  7. Samoa Joe
  8. Abyss
  9. Lashley
  10. Ron Killings
  11. James Storm
  12. Austin Aries
  13. Jeff Hardy
  14. Eric Young
  15. Magnus
  16. Chris Sabin
The full bracket can be seen right here:
Voting starts tomorrow with the WWE region. LET'S GET IT STARTED IN HERE.