Friday, July 24, 2015

The Battle Hive Is Ready for Trios

The Ants flank a Pharaoh this year
Graphics via
Team number 12 in this year's King of Trios tournament, as expected, will hail from a Challenge of the Immortal team. Ophidian's Snake Pit included the eponymous leader, Eddie Kingston, and Shynron, and now his tag team partner Amasis has revealed his flanks for the team representing the Battle Hive. Although "Smooth Sailing" Ashley Remington would have been a fine combatant, the Funky Pharaoh as chosen his two formicary teammates, Fire Ant and Worker Ant, to battle alongside him in the annual most-populated tournament in wrestling. Fire Ant has a King of Trios title to his name, winning with Soldier Ant, the currently brainwashed member of the BDK, and Silver Ant, whose brain may or may not have been washed as a member of the Nightmare Warriors (I think I messed this up in earlier entries... get on your game, TH). Worker Ant underwent a bit of his own Stockholm Syndrome, as he was a member of the Colony both in 2012's and last year's tournaments. The 2012 run came while he was still a member of the Swarm under the guise assailANT.

Four teams remain to be announced, and it is expected that three of them will represent the aforementioned Nightmare Warriors, the Arcane Horde, and Crown and Court, the three remaining COTI teams. That last trio is a bit of a question mark, but I get the funny feeling that it will be a team that may or may not have three members and are definitely familiar to Chikara fans. One of those last four teams will be announced LIVE on Wednesday during the series premiere of Journey Into Chikara on YouTube and Chikaratopia. Will the team be that mystery fourth squadron, or will that non-COTI team be saved for last? I guess you'll have to tune in at 7 PM ET on Wednesday to find out, shameless plug over.

The Battle Hive will join the following trios in this year's tournament: The Bullet Club (AJ Styles and the Young Bucks), Team Lucha Underground (Fenix, Aerostar, and Drago), Team Fight Club Pro (MK McKinnan and Moustache Mountain), Team Attack (Mark Andrews, Pete Dunne, and Flash Morgan), the Blue World Order (Big Stevie Cool, Da Blue Guy, and Hollywood Nova), the Devastation Corporation (Blaster McMassive, Max Smashmaster, and Flex Rumblecrunch), Dasher's Dugout (Dasher Hatfield, Mark Angelosetti, and Icarus), the above-mentioned Snake Pit, United Nations (Juan Francisco de Coronado, Proletariat Boar of Moldova, and Prakash Sabar), the Gentlemen's Club (Chuck Taylor, Drew Gulak, and the Swamp Monster), and the BDK (Jakob Hammermeier N√łkken, Soldier Ant). The team announcements are almost through, and this year's tournament might just end up being the most unpredictable one yet.